Joined by some of his castmates, Zack Weinstein of “Glee” presented the series’ talented casting directors—Robert J. Ulrich, Eric Dawson, and Carol Kritzer—with the Casting Society of America’s award for diverse casting of performers with disabilities.

Atticus Shaffer of ABC’s “The Middle” accepted the RJ Mitte Award for a young actor with a disability.

“Breaking Bad” creator Vince Gilligan (left) accepts the Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) Joan Young Award from Allen Rucker, Chair of the WGAW Committee for Writers with Disabilities and co-chair of the Media Access Awards.

Actor Danny Woodburn, best known for his recurring role as Mickey on “Seinfeld” accepted the Harold Russell Award from the Screen Actors Guild. In his memorable acceptance speech, Mr. Woodburn said he hoped for a near future in which actors with disabilities weren’t a noteworthy phenomenon.

MAA 2010


Pat Harvey, Emmy-winning broadcast journalist and KCBS/KCAL-TV news anchor


AFTRA Disability Awareness Award – Darcy Pohland, a successful newscaster in a wheelchair (posthumously, WCCO-TV)

SAG Harold Russell Award – Danny Woodburn is an actor and a union advocate for performers with disabilities and Little People. (Seinfeld, Passion, Men In Trees)

CSA Award – Robert J. Ulrich, Eric Dawson, Carol Kritzer, for diverse casting of actors with disabilities (Glee)

WGAW Joan Young Award – Vince Gilligan, for creating realistic characters with disabilities (Breaking Bad)

Producers Guild of America George Sunga Award – Mike Tollin (Radio, Smallville, Coach Carter) led a group of 12 Special Olympians up Mt. Kilimanjaro in 1990, which resulted in an Emmy Award-winning film, Let Me Be Brave

Christopher Reeve Acting Scholarship – Christopher Thornton (Curb Your Enthusiasm, Brothers & Sisters), who became paraplegic in a climbing accident in 1992 wrote and co-starred with longtime friend Mark Ruffalo in Sympathy for Delicious which debuted at the Sundance Film Festival 2010

RJ Mitte Diversity Award – Atticus Shaffer (The Middle), for an actor with a physical or emotional disability with limitations that would make an acting career seem implausible

The host for the Media Access Awards was KCBS/KCAL-TV Anchor Pat Harvey.


Presenters at the awards included actors Ron Livingston, CSI’s Robert David Hall, Glee’s John Autry, Lauren Potter and Zack Weinstein, Geri Jewell and many others.